close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

new to glocking

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by glockman2, Jul 15, 2003.

1. glockman2

glockman2

i am a new member at glock talk and just bought my first glock..a 22 in 40 s&w. i am also new to handgunning in general having mostly been involved in high power rifle.

i have been to the range once and didn't have much luck. the trigger system is certainly different.

any pointers from you experienced glockers would be gratefully appreciated. i enjoy reading the threads.

glockman2

2. DannyR

DannyR Moderator Millennium Member

Practice dryfiring your Glock as often as possible.

3. ClonaKilty

ClonaKilty

Dryfire/dry practice is good but you gotta practice RIGHT or else you ingrain bad habits.

The Glock trigger is the topic of much discussion here; from what I've seen here (and my own experience w/Glocks), the Glock will never be a crisp target-oriented trigger like, say, the benchrest rifle you may be used to. But once you get to the Glock's "mushiness" it's a dream to shoot. Hint: focus on the front sight, and don't allow yourself to think "is it gonna go off now? How about now? Maybe now?" Be surprised, just like w/ a rifle.

Also, there are many variables you haven't mentioned, such as your stance, your sight alignment, your grip, that all could affect your accuracy. Do a keyword search on any of those items and if you still need assistance just post it on GT/General Glocking. There was an excellent thread sometime back on the subject trigger control, sight alignment, etc but I don't have the link handy.

4. TJ in PA

TJ in PA Mistaken ID

PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE, WHEN EVER YOU CAN !

;) ;c

5. cheygriz

cheygriz Venerable Elder

Now that you have been seduced by the dark side, forever will it control your destiny! The force will be with you!

6. tjpet

tjpet