Glock Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to glock. Bought my first one 2 months ago for carry g27 gen4. Just got a gen4 17 last weekend for gssf but thinking about going with a 26 for gssf. My question is what is a good 9mm ammo? I mean go 115,124, or 147. Have heard some say the 115 doesn't do well on the steel any advice would be appreciated. Thank you

·
Pistol People
461 Posts
I'm new to glock. Bought my first one 2 months ago for carry g27 gen4. Just got a gen4 17 last weekend for gssf but thinking about going with a 26 for gssf. My question is what is a good 9mm ammo? I mean go 115,124, or 147. Have heard some say the 115 doesn't do well on the steel any advice would be appreciated. Thank you
The steel is all calibrated for .380 rounds, so you shouldn't have any trouble getting it to fall with any 9mm and I actually prefer the 115.

As for the G26 vs G17, I'd definitely start out with the G17. That will allow you compete in the most categories and really give you a good taste of what GSSF shooting is all about. Down the road, if you want to purchase a G26 for the subcompact divisions, it's a good 'next step'.

Don't worry too much about purchasing the 'right' pistol as you could win one at the match. Three people from our team each won one in a random drawing at their very first match!!

The most important part is just to be safe and have fun, that's what GSSF is all about.

Good luck!

·
Registered
4,437 Posts
Agree as above grain weight won't matter much. Relax take your time and enjoy. You could also enter subcompact class with your 27
The 17 is good for civilian or guardian class, competition and unlimited.
The biggest
Problem new shooter try to shoot too fast get sloppy with trigger control and have lots of misses or d zone hits. A slow string with all a/b hits is usually much better than super fast with a miss or two

·
Registered
15,408 Posts