Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good afternoon everyone!

I'm new to semi-automatic pistols in general and specifically to Glocks. I just picked up a new G43X a couple weeks ago and love it! Have only fired a couple hundred rounds through it and I'm looking forward to my next range session!

Upon tear down and cleaning I noticed what I thought was built up fouling residue. However, upon closer inspection I was able to clearly see that it is plastic that's peeling or wearing away from the frame. To me, this does not seem normal and could potentially pose a significant safety hazard!

I specifically purchased a Glock based on their bulletproof reliability and longevity reputation. I hope I'm fretting much about nothing! Pictures are posted so you can see what I'm talking about...please excuse the lint!

Is this something I should be concerned about? Your opinion, insight, and comments are welcomed!

Thanks in advance!
CV
IMG_7139.jpg
IMG_7140.jpg

·
Registered
317 Posts
I can tell you that mine don’t look like that. I may not inspect mine that hard either, though I believe I would have seen that.

I would recommend finding a local Glock armorer to check it out.

...Ron

·
thewoods868
1,666 Posts
It could only be the rear slide plate rubbing or scraping off when you remove the slide. Have you removed that plate and did you install it correctly if you did?

·
Registered
965 Posts
Can you post a pic of your rear slide plate particular pic angle underneath just flip the slide over and take a pic and also take a pic from the rear or the slide plate.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for everyones quick response!