New old friend

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by cadillacguns, Sep 17, 2018.

1. cadillacguns

cadillacguns Millennium Member

I don't know why, but I have been using a G-22/27 combo since 1996, mostly carry now a well used G-27, and the G-22 when needed. I shoot the G-22 well enough and the G-27 well enough to get the job done, with Winchester 180 gr PDX-1 in both of them. The other day I took an old buddy out of my safe, a well worn, well used, LE trade-in 2nd Gen G-23.
    I first started into Glocks in the mid 1980's with a 2nd Gen G-19, and then as a deputy in the mid 1990's up and to this day a G-22/27 combo, with the G-27 a constant companion.
    For the past two weeks and two range sessions using PDX-1 and 180 gr FMJ, The G-23 shined, I mean it was better for me than the first love G-19, and the G-22/27 combo hands down.
    I changed to a LCI extractor, and noticed it needed a new RSA, so it got one of those too and a detail strip and clean.
    Why, oh why has it not been carried in rotation for all these years, and although it won't happen as I love the "Trifecta" now of my .40 cal Glocks, if I could only have one of them, this would be the one.
    I am still going to grab the G-27 headed out the door most of the time, and the G-22 when needed, but some how some way this old buddy of mine has got to be appreciated and used more often, with cold weather in the future, I bet it will.

Glock-23.jpg
    Needs to get a Glock slide and barrel re-blue, and new night sights, or Trijicon re-lamps soon, but it won't go back into the safe anytime soon.

rayzer007, texas 48, 1L26 and 2 others like this.
  2. slamdunc

slamdunc JAFO

When people are paying an extra $150 for 'battle-worn' Glocks? I've been carrying my gen 3 G-23 for 20 years as of July and it is well worn lol.

Lawdog3 and strait shooter like this.

3. cadillacguns