close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New modem, but low speeds

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by streeter69, Sep 26, 2004.

  1. streeter69

    streeter69 This is Kewl

    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Location:
    I like annoying people.
    Last week we had a storm roll thru and fried one of my phones and my modem. I installed a new US Robotics modem and atleast I can get on line.

    My problem is my speed (connection) is about 48k, but my actuall speed is only 12k. I tested the modem and it always test at @50k but my tranfer rate sucks. I tried updating drivers and they are the latest ones. I know it is something in my software but I can not find it. any help?
     
  2. David_G17

    David_G17 /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    are you sure the phone lines weren't damaged in the lightning strike?

    do you hear any unusual static over the line when you pick up the phone?
     

  3. streeter69

    streeter69 This is Kewl

    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Location:
    I like annoying people.
    Phone lines good, had the phone company out on tuesday, he even was nice and tested my modem, he agreed with me that it is in my setup, but I can not find it.
     
  4. 308endurdebate

    308endurdebate

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    You need to get out the reference manual to query the modem after you dial up, and see if it has retrained (ie. lowered its speed to accommodate poor line conditions) and how many times it has. Also, depending on the speed of your computer, a winmodem will connect fast, but can process data slower than a "real" modem. The winmodems are cheaper than real modems so you probably picked up a winmodem. These tend to operate slower than their real counterparts with system slower than 800mhz (ie. a PII doesn't do so well).

    -ken
     
  5. AAshooter

    AAshooter

    Messages:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Location:
    Kalifornia
    Make sure you have the latest version of firmware in your modem. Many have downloadable code. I had a similar situation and once I downloaded the latest firmware life was good.

    And of course, make sure you have the proper drivers.