New Glock 23 - Do I need to "break-in" the barrel

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by Oofty Goofty, Sep 21, 2007.

  1. Oofty Goofty

    Oofty Goofty

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    I heard a guy talking the other day about breaking in a new glock barrel. He said something about CLP in the bore after every shot for the first ten shots. Has anyone else ever heard of this?

    Thanks
     
  2. DannyR

    DannyR Moderator Millennium Member

    Messages:
    20,256
    Likes Received:
    665
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 1998
    Location:
    Stuarts Draft, Virginia
    No, no, no, no, no. Just run a clean patch through the barrel and fire away. It needs no breaking in.
     

  3. vafish

    vafish

    Messages:
    16,763
    Likes Received:
    252
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Location:
    Commonwealth of Virginia
    What he is talking about is a method used to break in rifle barrels.

    Here's a method from the Savage web site:

    http://www.savagearms.com/cs_barrel.htm

    There is a lot of disagreement if rifles even need such a break in procedure. Several custom barrel makers say it is not necessary.

    I really don't think it is needed for pistol barrels.
     
  4. jack the toad.

    jack the toad.

    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Yes it needs breaking in. Swab the new barrel with a patch and then shoot the **** out of it.
     
  5. jack the toad.

    jack the toad.

    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I don't know much about anything but imo whether it's a long gun or handgun, if it's a quality barrel and after initial cleaning, it needs no break in.
     
  6. JWP

    JWP

    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    i break in pistol barrels by shooting 500 rds

    this is more to wear in the rest of the pistol so that it fits together better lol