New G20, kinda worried...

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by rheingold, Sep 17, 2019.

1. rheingold

rheingold

I've been carrying a G30S as my "woods gun" for many years.

Going fishing in bear country for a couple of weeks, so on a whim I decided to pick up a G20 instead. I'm mostly a revolver guy and shoot .44mag a lot, so I figured I won't have any issues with the 10mm recoil. I didn't want to take a .44mag, because it's gonna get wet and dirty, and I like having 15 rounds instead of 6.

So now that I picked up the G20 I start reading about it, and I see quite a few reports about kabooms, especially with hotter ammo. I was planning on buying some of that stuff.

Now I'm kinda wondering if the whole thing was such a good idea. In short, I don't fully trust the G20 now. Should I go ahead and buy a KKM barrel before I take the gun out? Am I overthinking this? How often do these things blow up?

I did blow up a full steel 1911 as a rookie reloader many years ago, and it was no fun at all. Took a year of practice to get over the flinch.

utsteve77 and trojanwar2 like this.
  2. Benchrst

Benchrst Ban Hamster

What generation? What ammo?

You shouldn't have any problems with case head support.

pjanthony likes this.

3. jmohme

jmohme

4 years with my G20. I have no idea how many rounds of hot Underwood ammo and no issues. In fact, your post is the very first I have heard of any G20 kabooms.
    I will carry on with mine. My favorite Glock!

4. rheingold

rheingold

Gen 4, brand new. Haven't decided on specific ammo yet, was gonna try a bunch and see.

5. Benchrst

Benchrst Ban Hamster

I have a .4, most rounds have gone down an AF barrel but many hot loads "as-factory".

"kabooms", are you thinking 40S&W?

pjanthony and boilergonzo like this.
  6. thomgetch

thomgetch