close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New G17 owner ....

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by tharrison57, Jan 2, 2010.

Tags:
  1. tharrison57

tharrison57

Newbie here, and just purchased a used Glock 17, 2nd Generation (?), 9mm, AZF serial #. It has 2 17-cap magazines, white Tru Dot sites, slide on Pachmayr grip. Needless to say, I'm here to learn.

When I lock the slide back, is the barrel supposed to float, as it seems to be loose ?

I shot one years ago, but wasn't impressed (sorry ...). Wasn't looking to buy one, but didn't think I could pass on the deal. Maybe I'll learn to love it ?

Is there a way to find a certified Glock dealer near me ? I think I'd like to have a qualified persdon check it over.

Thanks in advance for the help ...............

2. CarRamRod

CarRamRod Liter of Cola

fwiw if your that concerned just call glock customer service and ask about sending the pistol in for an inspect and tune up. I sent my 17 in last year and it arrived on a Friday and I had it back the following Thursday (ymmv) with almost all internals replaced for free. even had them put ns on it since it was there. should be good for another 15+ years...

3. drjustice

drjustice Super Senior

Glocks use the Browning barrel locking system. When the slide is moving to the rear the barrel moves back just enough to unlock it and cycle the next round. It is normal in all similar designs. The critical movement and play is the barrel to the slide fitting. Slide to frame a little loose, no problem. Check to see if the barrel is loose in the upper when the weapon is with the slide locked in the forward position. Glocks should have just a little more play than other similar weapons. This is to ensure reliability when the metals get hot and expand.