close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New build....success!

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by MyGlockRocks19, Dec 26, 2008.

  1. MyGlockRocks19

    MyGlockRocks19 Thread Killer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lenoir, North Carolina
    I know this isn't really a tech question, more along the lines of a story, but hey...this is Tech Talk, right? We can just talk about techie stuff without having to fry a hard drive first.

    I completed my new build! Well, for the most part anyway, there are still some peripherals I want to get, but its up and running....and WHOA is it fast compared to what I had before! This is the first time I can recall that everything went right while dealing with a computer....parts arrived on time, installation went smoothly, and when I pressed the power button the board posted and booted right up the first time. No playing with jumpers or re-arranging the front panel connectors at all!

    For those of you interested, the old hardware....

    Intel P4 @ 2.4 GHz, Intel i815 motherboard, 1 gig DDR 266MHz RAM, Nvidia Ti300 64meg AGP 4x video card.

    The new?

    AMD Athlon64 X2 @ 2.7 GHz, ECS A78OGM-A motherboard (with PCI-E 2.0, RAID support, and hybrid Crossfire) 2 gigs of DDR2 800 MHz dual channel RAM

    And the onboard ATI 3400 graphics chipset blows my old video card out of the water. I can't wait until I get a PCI-E card and see what THAT can do.

    Sorry, I know, I've run on. But I'm just so pleased with how well this went, I had to spill it.
     
  2. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,595
    Likes Received:
    1,835
    Location:
    Indiana

  3. Razrbk444

    Razrbk444 Sumthin' Witty Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    NE Arkansas
    Congrats on your success! If you like to game, a quality video card will rock. What operating system are you using?
     
  4. MyGlockRocks19

    MyGlockRocks19 Thread Killer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lenoir, North Carolina
    XP Home, for the minute. I've been quibbling over upgrading to Vista. I keep hearing horror stories of gluttonous system resource consumption and driver/software incompatibilities...I might just wait and see what Microsoft does next before I jump.

    XP gets the job done, and everything I own, software or hardware, plays well it with. I'll probably put off changing OS's until I have to.

    I forgot to mention...one of the great things about this mobo is when I've got the cash for a Phenom FX, I can slap one in and be good to go. I did a WHOLE lot of reading specifications when I went shopping. This ones got very decent upgrade potential.
     
  5. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    You need to double the amount of RAM in your build for Vista.
     
  6. Mystic316

    Mystic316 Lighting Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    It certainly couldn't hurt, but not really a necessity.
     
  7. Neo31rex31

    Neo31rex31

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice build dude, double the ram and tweek the settings to "Best Performance" also, go to Start->run->type in "Msconfig" then go to "Boot" -> click on Advanced options -> change the number of processors to "2" then restart. It will shorten your bootup time
     
  8. m2hmghb

    m2hmghb

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,671
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Livin in the country of NJ
    Not bad. I plan on building a new one around July, the new I7 chips are too tasty to resist. The one I have currently is an AMDX2 5000 Black Box overclocked to 3.25 ghz, Raptor 74 gig 10k hd, GTX260 video card, and 4 gigs DDR2 800mhz. I would look at the GTX260 or ATI 4870 if I were you.
     
  9. MyGlockRocks19

    MyGlockRocks19 Thread Killer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lenoir, North Carolina
    A new video card is in the works, as is a SATA HD. I'm kind of wondering which I should go with first....the video card will definitely boost gaming performance, but wouldn't the higher transfer rates on the hard drive have a more overall effect on system performance?

    I'm still running my old IDE HD for the moment.

    I'm kind of inclined towards Nvidia cards, but I'm running an AMD board. Is there any benefit in staying with ATI/AMD products given the hardware I'm already running, or will there be no effect either way?