close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New BCM range report.

Discussion in 'Black Rifle Forum' started by Jitterbug, Mar 9, 2010.

1. Jitterbug

Jitterbug

I’m new to the AR platform, so my first range trip today was a great new shooting experience.

BCM 16” Mid length, Stainless Steel 1/8 twist upper coupled to a stock BCM lower, Midwest Industry 2 piece non floating rail, Magpul RBUIS and a Primary Arms Gen 2 Red dot.

Ammo used.

PMC Bronze 55 grain FMJ
    Federal XM193 F, 55 grain FMJ
    Fiocchi 62 grain FMJ

With the Magpul RBUIS, the first 10 rounds at 50 yards with the PMC ran 2.65”, this was with a 100 yard Scope Sight in target, which I really couldn’t see very well or determine a good aiming point, not the best choice. Windage was fine, elevation 2” high, no front site tool, so I switched to the RD.

I switched the target over to an 8” black bull. The RD takes up about 80% of this at 50 yards.

5 into 1.4”
    5 into 2.3”
    5 into 1.15”
    5 into 1.5”
    5 into 1.7”

Average 1.61”

Then the Federal XM193 F.

5 into 1.6”
    5 into 1.8

Average 1.7”

Fiocchi

5 into 2.0”
    10 into 1.95”

3 into .3” with the 5 shot group
    5 into .8” with the 10 shot group.

This little carbine has some great accuracy potential!

My right eye is bad, and by this time I was freezing my butt off and getting some eye fatigue trying to hold with the red dot, while struggling with the trigger.

The 62 grain Fiocchi is the more accurate ammo, despite the overall larger groups, which I contribute to the sight picture, fatigue setting in and trigger.

The carbine, has a little side to side play between the upper and lower, and the trigger…well the trigger needs some work for my taste, I did compare it to a newer S&W M&P and the Smith had a much cleaner take up and break. Regardless, being a stock lower, my plan is to have Bill Springfield sweeten it so I’m not overly concerned at the moment, no malfunctions of any kind, it ran perfect.