Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the market for an AR that I can compete in 3 GUN with. I am an ex 11B vet that has probably shot 100,000 rounds minimum through the platform and consider it my most proficient weapon, but have never owned one. I plan on shooting 1,000-5,000 rounds a month, and reloading. What would be the weapon of choice in the $1000-$2000 range that I can compete with. I am looking for pros and cons of the different manufactures out there or any route someone would take to build one. Thanks for all the input.

·
Banned
42,102 Posts
Bravo Company, Daniel Defense, LMT, Colt, Noveske.

Find one with the features you like, they're all top notch.

·
Jacks #1 Fan
6,210 Posts
I am in the market for an AR that I can compete in 3 GUN with.
Just out of curiousity are you looking to get a base model rifle and tweak it or looking for a truly competative rifle for 3 gun right out of the box?

I see offerings by advertisers in USPSA and other competative shooting magazines for out of the box competition rifles and wonder of thier claims.

·
Registered
1,173 Posts
For 3Gun Noveske would be my pick. But can't go wrong with DD, BCM, etc.

Just an FYI - if you average 3k rounds a month expect to buy alot of new parts in 1-2 years. You could have issues with barrel, BCG, upper, and countless small parts. I would suspect the barrel would show signs of inaccuracy @ 1 year and probably need to be replaced around 1.5-2 years at that rate. Depends on what barrel you get though.

I think you are being overly optimistic in the amount you will shoot and reload. 36,000 rounds is about $7k in reloads.

Sounds like you have alot of experience with the platform so you probably know all this.

·
NRA ENDOWMENT
6,545 Posts