Never thought I would be a Glock fan...

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by USP-45, Mar 30, 2010.

1. USP-45

USP-45

But I bought a G27 for a back-up weapon and it shoots surprisingly well!

I was hired by a police department that issues the G22 and am in an academy right now. We have not gotten to the range yet and as such have not been issued our duty weapons, but I have been shooting for about 25 years and reloading for about 14. As the G27 can use the G22 magazines it just made a lot sense to pick up the G27. Now for the fun part, I am a HK fan. Not to the point of drinking the HK Kool-aid, but I have had my USP45 for 15 years and have put 17,000-18,000 rounds through it having only replaced the recoil spring a few times. Simply put it has been unfailingly reliable (it has stove piped a few times when my wife limp-wristed it, but other then that is has never had an issue when I shot it, not even once) and it is super accurate to boot.

So, I had shot a Glock a few times and while it was OK, I was just really happy with my USP and other auto pistols that I own. But then I bought the G27 a few weeks ago and put 200 rounds through it last weekend. That little pistol actually shot some really nice tight groups. I do not claim to be Dave Sevigny or anywhere even remotely close, but I am not too bad. That G27 was grouping with my USP out to about 12-15 yards. Now past that the USP does pull away a bit as I can put 10 rounds in the 9 ring pretty consistently from 25 yards with the USP and could not keep it that tight with the G27, but for being a sub-compact pistol it did really well.