close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Networking a laptop with a Sprint PCS wireless card

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by python1340, Sep 25, 2006.

  1. python1340

    python1340 Licensed to Ill

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    OK, so I'm out here in the sticks. No cable modems,no DSL. My friend has a laptop with a Sprint PCS card in it that hauls butt - about 140 kbps. I was wanting to know if I can share his internet connection with him. I also have a laptop. Both laptops have WiFi and I also have a Belkin wireless router if that would help. Please advise.
     
  2. python1340

    python1340 Licensed to Ill

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida

  3. python1340

    python1340 Licensed to Ill

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
  4. MikeG22

    MikeG22 CLM

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,830
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    Location:
    San Diego
    You could probably use "internet connection sharing" built into the computer. Google for a little tutorial on that and you should be ok for a temporary solution.
     
  5. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
  6. neeko

    neeko

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    You could bridge the pcmcia card to the laptop's NIC and use a crossover cable from your NIC to the laptop NIC with the bridge.
     
  7. blue0623

    blue0623 2B1ASK1

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland, Texas
    NO it doesn't,

    But as far as sharing the connection you can but I don't know how far it would reach between computers you would probally haeto be close.
     
  8. python1340

    python1340 Licensed to Ill

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    This was my thinking too. Either that or using my hub would prevent the need for buying a crossover cable, which I currently don't have.
     
  9. python1340

    python1340 Licensed to Ill

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Yes, they use cell phone connections to access the internet. When Sprint ships you a card, it is basically a cell phone on a card. A very specialized cell phone, but still a cell phone. When you view your networking connections, you see the Sprint connection is installed as a "dial-up" device. Except this dial-up device goes at a blazing speed of > 150kbps. (they advertise faster)