close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Need suggestion for first handgun

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by Swiper, Jan 1, 2010.

1. Swiper

Swiper

Hello! New member here. Enter at own risk. :whistling:

I'm thinking about purchasing my first handgun. I work for a Prosecutor's Office and some of our 'clients' are not God's best children. I will primary be using it for home defense and at the occasional concealed carry if I ever will feel threatened enough.

I have never fired with a handgun, ie. pistol, revolver, but I am used to military assault rifles (M4, M16, etc) as I have a 10+ years of military experience. Hence, I have no true preference to a certain model, size, or type of ammo. However, I have carried, but never fired, a M9 pistol and found it to be quite cumbersome and way too big for comfort (I'm a big fella at 6'3, 230lbs).

So I'm looking for a Glock which is a good option for home defense and the occasional concealed carry. I will probably only be at the range every six months or so to maintain proficiency as it will not be a hobby or a sport weapon.

Any suggestion on a Glock model that might be a good match for me? Thanks in advance. :supergrin:

2. Swiper

Swiper

Bumping my thread.

3. Jim S.

Jim S.

A handgun is not the first choice for home defense, especially if you do not practice with it OFTEN!
    It sounds to me like you would want something on the smaller side that would be easy to carry and easy to shoot.
    One of the Glocks in 9mm would be the way to go for this. A compact such as the model 19 would be a good place to start.
    Actually holding them and shooting them before buying would be nice. That way you get the one that feels good to you and shoots good to you.

4. Halojumper

Halojumper