close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Need Shoe Recommendation...

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning' started by California Jack, Oct 15, 2006.

1. California Jack

California Jack Millennium Member

I need a shoe for sprinting on asphalt, intervals on treadmill and walking on various surfaces. I have been doing these things in hi-top Chucks, but shin splints are getting too painful. In case weght matters I'm about 215.

Thanks,
    Jack

2. DBradD

DBradD

Chuck Taylor shoes?! Egad, I'm surprised those still exist.

Your needs sound about like mine. Is there a problem with a good pair of distance running shoes? I went to the local running store and the guy picked out a pair of $90+/- brooks running shoes for me. He watched me walk back and forth a couple of times, measured some parts of my feet, etc. I've been wearing them for a few months now and I have to say that they're the best fit I've ever had, so I'm sold on the process. I only wear them for stuff like jumping rope, running, stairmaster, etc. and have never worn them even once except during workouts. He also recommended an excellent pair of socks, but I can't remember the type. They seem to make a difference also. I wish I would've bought a couple more pairs, but they were about $8 each IIRC.

Long story short: If you have no problem with running shoes, then maybe getting a pair semi-custom fit is the way to go. It seems that some brands work better for folks with certain types of feet, so I doubt that it's possible to make a good blanket recommendation.

3. California Jack

Brad,

I guess I am just unsure about wearing running shoes for sprinting. Are they appropriate?

Jack

4. DBradD

DBradD