Glock Talk banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,040 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm finishing up a 14.5" Aero M4E1 carbine with an Atlas S-One handguard, and the rifle would be used for distances of 150 yards or less 99% of the time. I don't think putting on a scope for magnification would make much sense, but I'm open to opinions. I'd also really appreciate specific red dot recommendations since I have no prior experience with those. Budget would also be $150 or less.

Thank you kindly.

·
Registered
17,468 Posts
I have a couple Bushnell TRS25 red dot's on some .22LR guns. They work great there, haven't tried them on anything bigger. Only cost about $70.

On my AR-15's I have three Vortex Sparc red dots. They work well, and use a AAA battery which lasts a long time and is cheap to replace. They run about $170.

Reactions: Norman

·
Registered
14,985 Posts
Lots of Top 5 lists seem to include the Sig Romeo5 for best budget red dot. What would the Vortex Sparc have over it to justify $50 more? Thanks!
I don't like any of the Sig optics. They were having Holosun manufacture them, but to inferior specs. I've seen several fail in competitions. Either electronics failing or supplied mounts breaking.

·
Registered
3,274 Posts
If your only shooting out to 150 yards max why do you need a red dot . . If no answer that buy what fits your needs under a159bucks and most anything out there will work on a ar15 , even a cheap one .

One bit opf info your owver lookinfgis NO dot optic will give the clarity and field of view of a LPVO with a 30mm tube and batterys are not needed but available to most model's .

Maybe a LPVO like the one below will change your mind and it has a red dot as needed .-
Primary Arms Classic Series 1-4x24mm SFP Rifle Scope - Illuminated Duplex Dot

·
Registered
597 Posts