Need Mac Advice

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Charley C, Feb 17, 2017.

  1. Charley C

    Charley C

    Messages:
    1,508
    Likes Received:
    1,340
    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    I have an "almost" new 27 inch iMac; for the last 3 or 4 days now, every time I start the Mac up, I have a dialog box right in the center of the display, trying to get me to buy "Advanced Mac Cleaner";

    When I use the red button and make "Advanced Mac Cleaner" go away, directly underneath it is the exact same thing, only this time it's for "Mac Ads Cleaner". (At least this one doesn't TALK to me!)

    Even though I really NEED to get all of my files "cleaned out", I'm guessing that Apple has an app that will do it just as well, (or possibly even better?)

    Now......(and this just started today) I have yet another dialog box below these two; this one doesn't even look like an ad; it looks like something that the computer is telling me.....

    At the top it says, "Mac File Opener"; below that it says; "there is no application set to open the document ".DS_Store" . (I have no clue what that even IS?)

    Search for an application that can open this document, or choose an existing application on your computer. (and below that are two buttons....)

    O Search the web using Mac File Opener
    O Search on App Store

    below that and to the right are two big "buttons", marked....
    "Choose Application" "Search Now"

    The more I think about it, the more I think this one IS the computer talking to me?

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. Gimax

    Gimax

    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    508
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Looks like you caught some spyware/malware/bloatware crap.
    I would set up quick time machine backup and reinstall the whole system.
     
    ThrowinRocks and Vegas Girl like this.

  3. Gun Shark

    Gun Shark

    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    9,096
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Location:
    Florida
    Wipe and reinstall the operating system.
     
  4. GreenDrake

    GreenDrake Rip Lips

    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    621
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Location:
    North Idaho
    Easy, you have simple malware. No need to reinstall. Just close Safari after clearing cache and history, hold shift as you open it, go to this link http://www.adwaremedic.com/index.php and run malware bytes. Done. There is nothing other than a browser cookie really, you do not have a virus, we get this call all the time. It's from you surfing dirty adult sites, I kid. not a big deal super easy to fix.
     
    Jamie Haley likes this.
  5. Vegas Girl

    Vegas Girl

    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    207
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Location:
    Las Vegas, baby
    Time machine to back up your laptop to an earlier period. Go to your applications and uninstall the Advanced Mac Cleaner. This same thing has happened to me a time or two. And these solutions that work.
     
  6. Lord

    Lord Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    2,051
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    yes they work. you can simply remove them without using time machine.
    do Command-Option-Escape and bring up the force close window.
    If it's in there running, force close it.
    Click on Go, then Applications, and find that app and drag to the trash.
    go onto the file system and drag to trash any folders that are associated with that app.
    Long click on trash and empty it.
    GO into settings.
    Under users, click on your user and see what is set to run at boot time. If it's there, remove it from there.
    Reboot.
    Should be gone now. Get Sophos Home Antivirus. Free for home use. Install, update and scan just to be sure.

    Side note: My advice is sound. I am an IT Admin. I do this for a living.
     
  7. 1wise1

    1wise1

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Location:
    Carrollton (Dallas) TX
    Download Malwarebytes Anti-Malware for Mac. Install, then click on Scan. Follow the instructions from there. Program used to be free.. they may charge for it or the advanced portions of it now. It's worth it..