close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Need Help Choosing First Bike

Discussion in 'Moto Club' started by hotrodtba, Jun 7, 2006.

1. hotrodtba

hotrodtba Jr. Ammo Whore

I am looking to get my first street bike, and wanted everybody's input on the bikes I am thinking about. I am 6'2" and 230lbs. I have owned dirt bikes and sport ATV's, so I have some experience, but I know a road bike is a whole 'nother animal. The bike will mainly be just a toy to putt around on and cruise. Some riding to work, which is only 7 miles, half through town and the rest on a two lane highway.

Here are the models I am thinking would make a nice first bike. They are listed pretty much in order of preference based on looks.

1) Yamaha YZF600R
    2) Kawasaki Ninja 500
    3) Suzuki GS500E or F
    4) Suzuki SV650S

I really like the looks of a sportbike, but I am afraid the power will be too much. I've been told and have read that the YZF600R is a good compromise because it is styled like a sportbike, but the motor is detuned a little, and the riding position is not as hunched over as an R6. Also that it handles much better and is a little more forgiving than a full out sportbike.

I am afraid that the 250 bikes will be too small for me, based on my size and weight. Let me know what you think on the idea, and if my thinking is way off for some reason. Thanks.:)

2. Compy

Compy CompensateWhat?

Lose both the 500's as well. They are dinosaurs and you will be regreting it 6 months down the road. Carbureted, crappy brakes, just cheaply put together. Don't waste your money.

Look at the new Kawasaki Ninja 650R as well. A friend just bought one and it's a VERY well put together bike. Not too powerful, but quick enough to get out of the way of an errant cager and nimble as hell.

Another option if you are looking along the lines of the YZF are the Honda CBR F4i and Kawasaki ZZR 600.

3. fnfalman

fnfalman Chicks Dig It

What he said.