close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

need firewall advice

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Clyde in CO, Mar 5, 2006.

  1. Clyde in CO

    Clyde in CO LOL WUT?

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Springs
    well I have a laptop that I cart around with me, and I need a software firewall.

    I installed zonealarm, but when I run security scans I still have ports open.

    at home I plug into my firewall router and all my ports are invisible.

    is there a free firewall that will work as well as a hardware firewall?

    thanks for the help

    end of line
     
  2. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp

  3. mitchshrader

    mitchshrader Deceased

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    8,672
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Tulsa
    swear by it. dunno latest versions though.. I'm on v. 5.5 build 2710.

    it works. it's not good as a router. it takes cpu cycles. nearly, though.
     
  4. Clyde in CO

    Clyde in CO LOL WUT?

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Springs
    well, I got sygate up and running and it works great. giving all the results I was looking for.

    thanks a million DC.
     
  5. nickg

    nickg

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. bohr

    bohr rm -rf /

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    isafer

    Better than those surface firewalls. Takes a few minutes to "train" it though.
     
  7. LittleLebowski

    LittleLebowski Urban Achiever!

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Northern VA (WY native)
    Don't forget to use Firefox not IE, run an antispyware, a good hosts file, disable NETBIOS, run an updated antivirus, and consider skipping all of the former and running Linux with Firestarter firewall