close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Need cheap RAM. Where to buy?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Mr. PC, Apr 14, 2007.

  1. Mr. PC

    Mr. PC

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    I think, that I need DDR PC3200 for my Abit IS7 Motherboard.

    I currently have two 512MB sticks.

    I use Windows XP Home, Pentium 4 CPU 2.60GHz

    My computer is fast enough, I also use DSL.

    I want just a little bit more speed/performance.

    I like to have 12 or more windows open at once, sometimes this becomes an issue.

    I would settle for one more stick of 512MB.

    1GB would be nice, but I am really cheap.

    Anybody know where I can buy inexpensive RAM?

    Best deals on the net?
     
  2. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Messages:
    26,834
    Likes Received:
    2,198
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana
    Do you have another slot? With DDR, you generally are gonna have either 2 or 4 slots, you lose the advantage of DDR if you only install one DIMM(at least thats my understanding).

    http://www.tigerdirect.com
    http://www.newegg.com

    FWIW, Buying "Value Ram" is almost always a bad idea.

    IGF
     

  3. Mr. PC

    Mr. PC

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Yeah, I have 4 slots and I am using 2 now.

    I just want a small increase in speed. I dont need it.

    So, I guess I need to find the cheapest 512MB available.
     
  4. Blitzer

    Blitzer Cool Cat

    Messages:
    12,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
  5. Mr. PC

    Mr. PC

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
  6. NetNinja

    NetNinja Always Faithful

    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
  7. lens

    lens

    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    Northeast
    Watch the store sales near you or mail-order (watch out for exorbitant S/H charges).

    I bought Buffalo DDR RAM at Micro Center on sale with rebates for real cheap. Every 2 weeks they have a new sale, so I bought 1 each of 512MB and 1GB one time and 2 weeks later again (limited to one of each during a rebate period of 2 weeks). Their latest sales ad is cheap price with no rebates. Check www.microcenter.com

    Also check other reputable places.

    Brands that I recommend:

    - Kingston
    - Crucial
    - Buffalo
    - PNY

    There are other brands, but I have not tried them, so can't recommend them to anyone.
     
  8. pyblood

    pyblood

    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I got some RAM if you need some. Email me @ pyblood@gmail.com. It’s new in the packaging. It would be nice to get rid of it to fund my ammo habits.
     
  9. malkore

    malkore

    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    PC3200 in DDR (not DDR2) is old stuff. unfortunately that means its no longer manufactured, so you'll pay a premium for it.

    seriously, you may pay $90 a stick of 512mb...meanwhile I just got two 1gb sticks of DDR2 PC5300 for $109.
     
  10. lens

    lens

    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    Northeast
    Old yes!

    Not made any more and selling for a premium? NO WAY!

    Every week this stuff is on sale at Circuit City, CompUSA (assuming they exist in your state any more), Best Buy, Staples, Micro Center, etc.

    I paid $59.99 (after $25 rebate) for 1GB and $29.99 (after $20 rebate) for 512MB, both PC 3200 2 weeks ago at Micro Center. Current sale price at Microcenter.com is $75 for 1GB PC3200.
     
  11. Mr. PC

    Mr. PC

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Can I put 1GB of RAM in slot #1, then 512MB in slot #2 and 512MB in slot #3?
     
  12. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Messages:
    26,834
    Likes Received:
    2,198
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana
    *Can* you, probably. Again though, you lose the benefits of having DDR ram. Just get 2 1gig Dimms, and be done with it.

    Malkore, you must not get out much if you think DDR is expensive. Prices similar to what lens mentioned can be found at any number of box stores and online retailers.
     
  13. pyblood

    pyblood

    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Mississippi
    What kind of benefits would be be losing?
     
  14. Mr. PC

    Mr. PC

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    I already have two sticks of 512 installed.

    I was thinking of buying one stick of 1GB.

    Maybe two more in the 512 size.
     
  15. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Messages:
    26,834
    Likes Received:
    2,198
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana
    Maybe none, who knows, I said earlier in the thread that as I understand it, DDR should be installed in pairs to experience the full benefit(ie, speed) of the RAM. I could be wrong on this, thats just my understanding of it.

    Good luck PC, whatever you do.

    IGF
     
  16. lens

    lens

    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    Northeast
    DDR2 REQUIRES installation of pairs.

    DDR does NOT.

    However, I am unsure if you gain any benefit of pairing like size in adjacent sockets.
     
  17. pyblood

    pyblood

    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Mississippi
    That is not right. RDRAM requires pairs. I have some computers with 1 stick of RAM and I have others with 3. DDR does not require pairs with RDRAM
     
  18. lens

    lens

    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    Northeast
    Sounds like you are agreeing with me (the part you quoted).

    I didn't address RDRAM as it was never "mainstream" popular.

    DDR and DDR2 are the two most common RAM styles out there these days.
     
  19. pyblood

    pyblood

    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Sorry i should have said that DDR2 doesn't always require pairs. I have some computers that have DDR2 and came with 1 stick of 512MB from the factory. Now if you want dual channel (if your MB supports it) then you have to install in pairs.