Need advice.....

Discussion in 'Band of Glockers' started by 6lock3d, Apr 5, 2005.

1. 6lock3d

6lock3d

I just bought a Glock22....I am now shopping for my 2nd firearm. I was considering a G17 or maybe a G19- but I am also temtped to buy a shotgun. In particular- the Remmington 870.... the primary purpose of this weapon would be for home defense (as the G22). I am new to this so I thought that I might benefit from the advice of some experts...Which would be a wiser "investment" ?
    Thanks in advance for your expert advice!!

2. cebuboy

cebuboy toy soldier

the shotgun would be a good choice as you already have a handgun:)imho, the shotgun is one of the best close range manstopper invented by man.

3. vega

vega

Get the shotgun first then you can get the G19 or G17 afterwards.

vega

4. antediluvianist

antediluvianist

I bought a serious of handguns (1911, Tanfoglio 9mm., Glock 17, and S&W .357 magnum.) , then bought a shotgun. For home defense, you just have to see what happens to a target at basically ANY house defense range when you hit it with a unch of pellets - even birdshot - from a shotgun. A shotgun is MUCH more powerful than a handgun. And it's easier to aim - it's a shoulder weapon with stability and a long sight radius, not a weapon in your hand that tends to wave around..

In my case I got the shotgun because my eyes are getting bad and I wanted something that was less demanding about aim (BUT you still have to aim a shotgun - it's just easier. )

I suggest you buy the shotgun. The Remington 870 is fine. A Mossberg ("Maverick 88", "500", or "590")will do fine too. And the Armscor shotguns will do fine for home defense too.

Try shooting any of the above. You will see that it beats any handgun for home defense. Damn fun too! (Keep your handgun, just add the shotgun.)

5. 6lock3d

6lock3d

I think I will go with the shotgun...thanks again for the advice.