Need advice while camping in CA

Discussion in 'California Glockers' started by jfrey123, Jul 23, 2007.

1. jfrey123

jfrey123

My knowledge of the laws in your awesome state is a little on the uninformed side. I want to bring a revolver camping with me this weekend. It will be in a National Forest area, however the lake I'll be camping at is a private owned lake. There are no signs banning firearms, only shooting them.

How do most of you Cali guys camp? Open carry? Concealed Carry (seems impossible to get a permit)? I'm a NV resident if it matters.

My plan is to avoid open carry, since I don't want to scare the poor libs up at camp. I will transport unloaded and locked, then load and holster my revolver when we get to camp and unpack. Then this gun is going in the tent. My goal is protection from Mr. Crazy Bear or Mr. Crazy Deliverence Guy, no target shooting.

On a side note, does anyone shoot in National Forests? I've shot in Toyiabe Nat'l Forest since I was a kid on Boy Scout campouts, and with church campouts as well. I always see other signs of people target shooting and have never been bothered by rangers. Typically, when hiking up there, I open carry and haven't had any problems.

Advice for a redneck from the cowboy state? Unofficial is ok, I'm not taking anything as gospel.

2. Juliet Lima

Juliet Lima Hawaiian Guy

I conceal carried while camping at Lake Mendocino. Since it was actually Kyen campground, which I believe was owned by the Army Corps of Engineers, I made sure to keep it hidden. I was still under the impression that it was allowed, I just wasn't sure about it. I read it and clearly think it's okay, then read the note and became unsure. For what it's worth no one realized I had one while camping and I definitely had it either on my person while in the immediate vicinity of the campsite, locked in my truck, or in my tent while I was sleeping.
    Here's the legal mumbo jumbo from the CA DOJ:

Firearms in the Home or Business