close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Need advice! Should the G-19 go? Then what!

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by albinlee, Jul 17, 2011.

1. albinlee

albinlee

Hey All,

I bought my first pistol, the G-19, when I turned 21 in Feb. '10. It made sense at the time as a perfect compromise of size and shootability, and has been a great (although a bit wide) carry gun. February of this year, I got into practical shooting such as USPSA, and it has become a huge thing for me now. In the past 6 months, I have gone from knowing nothing to being able to hang with B-class production shooters (although I am not yet qualified). Long story short I really want to get a competition gun, but will be sad to let that G-19 go. It has alot of sentimental value, but as a broke college student I just cant afford a second gun right now. :crying: Regardless, I feel like the extra sight radius would make a noticeable difference outside of 15 yards, especially when I shoot Friday nights at Sam's indoor competition.

Should I get the G-34? This is my first instinct, especially being a huge Dave Sevigny fan. The other option I would like to consider is the G-17c, compensated model. According to the what I have read online, compensated guns are legal in production if they are built into the gun from the factory. Any personal experience would be greatly appreciated!

P.S. Here is me shooting a qualifier. There are two strings, and I got a little confused so I cleared my gun in between, but it was my first outdoor match and I was pumped about it anyways. :supergrin:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8z9nm8kQVvM&feature=channel_video_title
    The second string was faster, pointers always welcome.

2. Shasta McNasty

Shasta McNasty

meh. not a fan of long barrel, or "C" glocks. that's just personal pref though. i'd rather have a g34 than any "C" model. why do you feel the need to tame 9mm recoil while increasing muzzle flash/noise?