close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Need advice, moving & law school, Western WA vs. Reno...

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by TED, Aug 17, 2012.

1. TED

TED Millennium Member

I live in Alaska now. I want to move either to Western Washington or Reno. I also want to go to law school in one of the two places.

What are your thoughts about Western Washington vs. Reno?

TED

Last edited: Aug 17, 2012
  2. teumessian_fox

teumessian_fox

My thoughts on law school. Don't waste your money unless you're going to an Ivy League institution.

Research the law suit law school grads initiated against their law school for (the law school) falsifying employment data.

3. squatchie666

squatchie666

I can't really offer any advice on either location other than to say that Nevada has some very gun friendly laws (with the exception that guns are banned on all school campuses included higher education).
    I am in my last semester of law school at UNLV in Las Vegas, NV. Something you should know is that the legal market is not great right now for trying to find a job as a new lawyer, but the comment suggesting only Ivy league law schools are worth it is incorrect. If you're in the top of your class and on Law Review from a decent law school then hopefully you'll be fine (I can't predict the legal market in 3-4 years when you graduate). In my opinion you don't get a better legal education at Ivy League schools, you just pay a TON more money and have an easier time finding a job. I don't know about the schools in Reno, but UNLV is ranking somewhere around 75th right now which makes it a decent law school.