close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Need a cable router recommendation

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by TenMillimeter, Feb 4, 2006.

  1. TenMillimeter

    TenMillimeter

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2001
    Location:
    North Metro Atlanta
    I've got two PC's running XP Pro, and Bellsouth DSL Lite with a Westell DSL modem. Only one is currently connected to the internet. I've installed Cat-5 cable from one wall jack to another, and now I'm searching for a good router. I'm clueless on what to get, so I'd like to ask for some recommendations on types and brands. I'm running Zone Alarm's free basic firewall, but from what I gather, it's only good for a single PC, and not a network, so I'd need a router with a built-in firewall.

    Any suggestions would be much appreciated.
     
  2. hwyhobo

    hwyhobo

    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    I've been buying refurbished equipment for my personal use and also for business use. That way you can get higher end equipment with more bells and whistles for low prices. However, you won't get a manual, and you have to be prepared to use your knowledge to set it up. If you know someone who is comfortable with it, it may be a way to go. For instance, I just found this on JustDeals (I buy from them quite a bit):

    http://store.yahoo.com/justdeals/fvl328nar.html

    That's a nice router/switch combo for home/small business use with a decent firewall and VPN tunnels.

    Those things tend to be snapped up quick, but you can check their main page from time to time:

    http://www.justdeals.com/
     

  3. srhoades

    srhoades

    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    I got a great deal from justdeals on a refurbished router. Turns out everyone but me new the router was junk which is why it was so cheap. I can't fault justdeals since I didn't do my homework but the router itself was in great condition.
     
  4. pyblood

    pyblood

    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I have Bellsouth DSL with the Westel modem too, and I currently don’t use a router. The Westell modem also serves as a router. I am using a gigabit switch to share the DSL with my computers.

    I would recommend buying a 802.11G wireless router, because they aren’t much more expensive than a regular router. Plus you’ll have the wireless feature in case you ever want/need it. You can always disable the wireless radio until you need it.
     
  5. hwyhobo

    hwyhobo

    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    That's the danger, but it's independent of whether you buy refurb or new. I have a similar one on my home network to the one I listed above (by the way, I just checked, and they already sold it out - I was thinking of buying one for a friend of mine - JohnG27, did you snap it up?), and it's been flawless. I bought one with an Australian power supply, but those cost $5 extra at Fry's, so who cares.

    I also have entire classroom equipped with hubs and switches from JustDeals, and they also travel with me round the world on presentations. It's amazing how much those little blue Netgear buggers can withstand. :) And even if the shipper manages to break them (I don't exactly baby them in packing), at the refurb prices I won't cry. :)
     
  6. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Messages:
    26,807
    Likes Received:
    2,145
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1527514&CatId=0

    Extremely easy to set up, great firewall, SPI, VPN, etc.

    I'd highly recommend gettign a firewall, lot of Internet Nasties out there. I personally wouldn't be online w/o a firewall. I've saw several probe attacks turned back by mine, and I come up completely covered on any port probe I use....

    Good luck
    IGF

    PS:
    srhoades, what kind of router, was the "junk" router from justdeals?
     
  7. Blitzer

    Blitzer Cool Cat

    Messages:
    12,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
    Then add Zone Labs internet security suite with firewall, anti-virus, anti spyware, malware, etc.

    I currently use the product ZoneAlarmPro and it is very good.

    www.zonelabs.com :cool: ;f
     
  8. srhoades

    srhoades

    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Netgear WGT634U. And if you have any doubts go check out the netgear support forum. The DHCP server in the router didn't even work until the 3rd firmware release.

    But the most annoying part is that the wireless function will just disapear. Your connection will drop and the router is not accessible via the local login nor does it even show up in the listed wireless networks detected by windows. Only thing that will fix it is a power cycling of the router, which you end up doing about 3 times a day.

    Oh, and the dynamic ip updating service never worked either. And I also forgot that the attatched storage feature would just disapear as well.

    I just replaced it with a Lynksys WRT54G and couldn't be happier.
     
  9. astrolux

    astrolux

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    i've used linksys, netgear and apple's airport extreme base station and been pleased with all three.

    all routers act as a firewall in the sense that they "hide" your IP address. a hacker will be able to see there is a computer at such and such IP address, but they won't be able to see specifically where it is. by no means does this mean you shouldn't run a personal firewall in addition to the router. xp service pack 2 has one built into it, you can also try mcafee's or norton's internet security software.
     
  10. hwyhobo

    hwyhobo

    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Please do not confuse a NAT device with a full-blown stateful firewall. If you value your network, you should have the latter in addition to NAT on your router. Personal firewall is not a substitute for that, but an addition at best.
     
  11. astrolux

    astrolux

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    exactly
     
  12. TenMillimeter

    TenMillimeter

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2001
    Location:
    North Metro Atlanta
    No, I ended up installing a Belkin that my Dad had laying around and gave to me. It has a built-in firewall. We tried a Gigabit (forgot the model #) that he also had laying around, but could not get it set up to work. Extremely user unfriendly.

    BTW, I had to disable Zone Alarm (free version) and revert back to the Win firewall once I hooked up the network. I had McAfee firewall on one machine, and ZA on the other. I could not access the internet at all on the machine with ZA, but I could on the one with McAfee. Now, if I could only find a good free firewall that will work on a network. My McAfee subscription runs out in a couple of weeks, and I don't plan on renewing.