close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

myspace.com

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Alchemy, Apr 12, 2006.

1. Alchemy

Alchemy Senior Member

My 14 y/o nephew has as his home page. How do I block asscess
    to this sight?

Thanks

2. jack19512

jack19512

I am no computer expert and I know you are going to get a much better answer to your question than my answer.

But, I use a free pop-up-blocker called Popup Killer 1.43 and when on a site you can manually add their url to the black list and it will terminate it instantly.

Just a suggestion just in case you don't get any other replies. If you need to know more just let me know.

3. HAVOC

HAVOC Remember CLM Millennium Member

The quickest way, assuming your running windows and without having to buy any software, is to edit the PC's hosts file.

You may have to unhide some options in Explorer (not internet explorer) but in Windows XP it exists in the C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc directory. It's called "hosts", no dot anything, just "hosts". Double click on it, and when Windows asks you what to open it with, pick notepad. It's just a text file.

The last line should read something like

127.0.0.1 localhost

Add the line

127.0.0.1 myspace.com

Save and close. Now any time that PC tries to get to myspace.com, it'll just be talking to itself and get nowhere.

Have you considered just unplugging it when he doesn't stay away as he's told?

4. hwyhobo

hwyhobo

Your router should have a firewall. Good firewall on a home router should have content blocking and address blocking. If you are not using a router with a good firewall, you should. In my opinion, no personal firewall on Windows comes close to the reliability of a hardware solution (and it is faster and cannot be disabled by your kid).

5. RMTactical

RMTactical Battle Born CLM