My first Striper fishing trip coming up.

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by crater, Jun 27, 2007.

1. crater

crater NRA Member

Myself and a friend of mine with his girlfriend are spending three nights at a cabin at Lake Cumberland this week-end. We are taking a guided boat for Stripers at 5:00 am on Sunday. I am told that we should have our limit (2 each) by at least 11:00. We are going to eat and chill and maybe a hot tub dip the rest of the day. On Monday, we have reserved a potton boat (big enough for 8 people) for the whole day to do some cove fishing for whatever is biting.

Not much of a big announcement, but I am excited since I have never done anything like this before. Darned near packed already:) :)

Just thought I would share.

Anybody here been to Lake Cumberland before?

Thanks

2. gruntmedik

gruntmedik Semper Fi CLM

We have some family friends down in Burnside, and we would visit all the time when we were kids. Been a long time since I've been there, and have never fished there.

I have, recently, been bitten by the Striper bug here at Taylorsville Lake. Caught a few in the 10"-12" range, and I am hooked! (pun intended :supergrin: ) The Striper population is nothing like Lake Cumberland is, so you should have a blast.

Make sure you take some pics for us. :thumbsup:

3. glockawakka

glockawakka

ya'll gotta come east and get some BIG stripers, none of the lake fish. talkin 50lbs++ use 10-12in fish for bait.

4. TScottW99

TScottW99 Bird Catcher

Just started fishing for stripers myself. First one I caught was by accident, I was fishing for flatheads...

[​IMG]

Second one was caught on purpose :supergrin: with a 5" redfin (top water lure) at Smith Mountain Lake...

[​IMG]

Good luck on your trip! Stripers are fun to catch. Caught a 5 pound hybrid-bass the other night on a Smithwick.

5. mossy500camo

mossy500camo Guest

6. crater

crater NRA Member