close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

My experience w/ FreeBSD 6 (Long)

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by mfackler, Apr 8, 2006.

1. mfackler

mfackler

I have recently taken on the project of upgrading my personal web server from running Apache on an old P2 with RH 9 to a brand new home built AMD running FreeBSD 6.0. I wanted to not only upgrade my server but to learn FreeBSD as well. (Don’t ask me why. I’m funny like that I guess) I am completely self-taught. I just like this kind of stuff. I consider myself probably an advance hobbyist. The learning curve on FreeBSD was in fact VERY steep for me. I have however come to LOVE it. I kind of feel like I have found a “home.” FreeBSD seems to fit me very well. I had some breaks along the way, some lucky some not so lucky. In as much a Glock Talk is probably the only forum on the internet that amounts to a pinch of poo (and some of the lucky breaks came from here) I wanted to share. Maybe help out the next person.

First up I found this set of cheat sheets . I found them very accurate and helpful. My running system is years ahead of what it would have been without them. In fact as a small token of gratitude I plan on forwarding this post to that sight as well. Perhaps some of my discoveries may be included there as well.