close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

My computer was running so slow

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Dalton Wayne, Jan 2, 2010.

1. Dalton Wayne

Dalton Wayne Epic mustache Millennium Member

For the last month my computer and my wife and kids computers were just bogged down running like crap, I thought I needed more ram, then the wife who is self taught it tech kept saying the modems bad, so I exchanged it for a new one and WOW my cumputer now runs like a raped ape, here I was ready to take it to the geek squad, who would have thunk it. :cool:
    Regards
    DW

2. filthy infidel

filthy infidel 100% Infidel

Next time take a little time... my inlaws just brought down their five year old PC to give to my five year old. My son has been running my eight year old PC just fine but the inlaws thought they'd be updating him.

Mom in law said her computer was sooo slow it wouldn't work. I offered to remote in, she just bought new.

I removed 1.2 GIGs of temp files. McAfee was the problem- it took over an hour but I removed that sucker and freed up the system. Another hour to remove 'free pc booster', 'modem booster', security booster', 'free pc booster', etrc and the system smokes. My five year old now rocks Noggin.com in his room!

3. dotsun

dotsun Shark Stomper

Or you could've spent 45 mins loading the OS fresh and been done early. :tongueout:

4. Drjones

Drjones

Seriously.

I'm a big believer in just formatting the drive & starting fresh.

5. MavsX

MavsX The Dude Abides

hell yeah. of course then you gotta wait a few days for the thing to update...but yeah clean installs are the best

6. area727

area727 G23

Especially after years of use. Windows gets itself all knotted up. This is the only way to go.

7. IndyGunFreak

IndyGunFreak

You mean all of those programs aren't super awesome? ;)