close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Mozilla Firefox freezes computer

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by AZG23, Jan 11, 2005.

  1. AZG23

    AZG23

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
    Location:
    Surprise, Az
    So iVe heard better things about Firefox than IE...so Ive tried it for the past week...soem things I like..some I dont...it takes awhile to load in...and is kinda sketchy when scrolling thru the Favorites list....but it has been freezing up on me as well...I never had a problem with freezing on IE....what say you...?? ANd should I just go back...

    Its Firefox 1.0
    on Win 98 sec edition
     
  2. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    I cannot stress this enough: DON'T GO BACK TO INTERNET EXPLOITER!!!

    IMHO, Firefox is kind of hinky...I use the same Moz suite I have been using for years...version 1.3.

    I suggest you export your bookmarks to the desktop, download a recent Mozilla suite (also has a webpage builder and a mail client, along with chat and IRQ), then uninstall Ff.

    Moz 1.7 doesn't have half of the problems Ff has...I don't know why, but that is my experience.

    Good luck!
     

  3. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Make sure you have the current version of Firefox it's 1.0.The earlier version had some problems.I had exactly your problem on Windows 98SE.Keep Firefox 1.0.Click Start>Accessories>System Tools>Scan Disk.Run through all the other System Tools too.Scan Disk should repair the registry problems you are having.Then With Windows 98SE you must have CCleaner.Download and install from http://wwww.ccleaner.com I'm not a big fan of toolbars but You should install Yahoo Toolbar and anti spyware.You must do this in Explorer not Firefox.Then run the anti spyware,it's a very good one.You should run Scan Disk and Disk Defragmenter after installing any program.This will help keep your Windows 98SE healthy.
     
  4. AZG23

    AZG23

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
    Location:
    Surprise, Az
    thanks..it is FF 1.0 Ill can and defrag..but I jsut did it before I installed it..Ill do it again right now. Ill download CCleaner..I saw that in another thread but was waiting for any opinions first. I have Adaware and Spybot downloaded and run them regularly after updating them.

    Thanks for the suggestions and help..
     
  5. Clydeglide

    Clydeglide

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    I have had Zero problems with FIrefox. It has all but made my spyware obsolete. If you have broadband here are a few tips I blatanly stole from another forum on how to tweak Firefox.....

    How To Speed Up Firefox

    Here's something for broadband people that will really speed Firefox up:

    1.Type "about:config" into the address bar and hit return. Scroll down and look for the following entries:

    network.http.pipelining network.http.proxy.pipelining network.http.pipelining.maxrequests

    Normally the browser will make one request to a web page at a time. When you enable pipelining it will make several at once, which really speeds up page loading.

    2. Alter the entries as follows:

    Set "network.http.pipelining" to "true"

    Set "network.http.proxy.pipelining" to "true"

    Set "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to some number like 30. This means it will make 30 requests at once.

    3. Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer. Name it "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and set its value to "0". This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it receives.


    I've done this to mine and it works well.

    YMMV

    :cool:
     
  6. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Yahoo toolbar has add blocking for explorer,not that you should use explorer but that toolbar has one of the strongest and best spyware removers for win98se. run scan disk after installing.
     
  7. AZG23

    AZG23

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
    Location:
    Surprise, Az
    Running much quicker now..(that worked Clyde) and SO FAR...hasnt frozen up on me. Thanks for all the suggestions...
     
  8. ejerman

    ejerman

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    I just downloaded Firefox tonight and did what you suggested and it is definitely quicker...
    thanks again

    Eric
     
  9. Clydeglide

    Clydeglide

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    All of you are most welcome. In reality all I did was post something that was given to me. Believe me when I tell you that I am not a digital guy. Swap hardware? In a second. Try and correct a soft ware issue? UHhhhhhhhhhh...no. Alright, I might be up to a definite maybe.

    It worked for me so I just passed it along.

    :cool: