close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Motorist Killed On Interstate By Flying Van WHEEL! (???)

Discussion in 'Cop Talk' started by ULVER, Mar 5, 2010.

1. ULVER

ULVER Dixie Rebel

2. volsbear

volsbear IWannaBeSedated Lifetime Member

3. op2k

op2k

I actually witnessed something like that happen years ago when I was a delivery driver. A dually going north on I-95 had one of it's tires just pop off (rim and all). The tire kept rolling at 70 mph and jumped the median wall, then slammed into a van going the opposite direction. That tire completely flattened the driver compartment of the van :shocked: It was a very surreal thing to see.

4. SPDSNYPR

SPDSNYPR Zippy's Friend.

Newton and Murphy got together and made some new laws.

5. Kahr_Glockman

Kahr_Glockman

I worked a traffic collision between an 18-wheeler tandem and a pair of vehicles. The wheels careened down the road and sideswiped a Honda civic and then slammed into a chevy suburban. There were no injuries but the axle failed most likely from lack of maintainance. Totaled the suburban and I can't remember what happened to the civic

6. BamaTrooper

BamaTrooper Retired

It is possible the lugs weren't tightened all the way and tire wallowed out the lug holes.

I had that happen on one of our "pursuit training" cars at the academy. Front tire on an 84 Crown Vic.

Years ago, we had a tandem come of a tractor trailer, cross the interstate and a field, roll through a clump of trees, hit a house and kill a woman. Sometimes, it is just your time to go.

On another note, Georgia State needs to ask how many zeroes to put on the check.

7. trifecta

trifecta

We had a U joint come off a SB dump truck and cross the median, going through the windshield of NB passenger car. Hit the driver in the jaw/throat and he ended up dead. Wife in the passenger seat steared the car into the center barrier to stop the car.

8. Ducowti

Ducowti