close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Motherboard ?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by jack19512, Mar 8, 2007.

  1. jack19512

    jack19512

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hazard Ky
    I have a computer with a A7N8X board that I am having touuble with and any help would be appreciated. The computer takes around 2 to 3 minutes to begin to boot when first turned on.

    My monitor power light will blink until this process begins. Since I have cleared the cmos the computer will begin booting until it gets to the "press the delete button to enter setup" stage.

    When I press the delete button on the keyboard it will give me a blank black screen on the monitor with a blinking cursor at the top left screen and go no further. Has my motherboard seen it's final days? Thanks for any help.
     
  2. malkore

    malkore

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    I have the same board...never seen something like that. I know for a fact that the A7N8X-Deluxe boards used crappy CMOS chips. My buddy went thru 3 boards via warranty.

    RAM and Video both get tested prior to the setup prompt...might pull all but one stick of RAM, and try booting, testing each stick one at a time to see if that makes any difference.

    usually bad RAM is just bad...not slow to test/read.
     

  3. jack19512

    jack19512

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hazard Ky


    Tried that but it didn't help. It goes through the ram test and everything shows good too. The board is probably just history, I just didn't want to give up on it until I tried everything I could. Thanks for the reply.
     
  4. malkore

    malkore

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    only other thing I can think to try is a different power supply if you have one.

    don't even mount it in the case, just plug in and try.
     
  5. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,778
    Likes Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Indiana
    Hmm, could be I guess, if the PS is sending extremely irregular voltage to the MB.

    I had that same board on my old system, and although I don't have it anymore, to my knowledge, its still ru8nning perfectly.
     
  6. srhoades

    srhoades

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,812
    Likes Received:
    18
    When the motherboard counts the ram it doesn't actually test it. Download the ultimate boot cd and boot to that and run memtest86+ to test your ram.
     
  7. Patrick Graham

    Patrick Graham Footlong Jr.

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kokomo Indiana
    I second that..

    If it boots to UBCD4WIN and runs then your mobo is probably OK...
     
  8. jack19512

    jack19512

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hazard Ky
    Thanks for the replies. It wasn't the power supply or the ram. I tried other ram and ram slot positions and another power supply.

    I had two of these boards, bought them about the same time. One is still doing fine the other is in the garbage now. I tried for days to no avail.

    Just had to face the fact that the board was just bad. Ordered me a new board yesterday. Thanks again.