More Win98 Help Needed

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Tarkio, May 4, 2007.

1. Tarkio

Tarkio

Hello:
    This is my first time in this forum. Wish I had found it a while ago.

I have a couple computers running 98 because of some data capture software I use in my business will not work with anything else so updating is not an option.

The problem I have is that the resolution on my screen is too low. Images I am capturing are very poor resolution. When I try to change the resolution, I get to the screen where there is a slide bar to adjust the resolution but it will not budge/respond.

A layman's guess here is that I need to allocate more memory to my video but how?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
    Tarkio

2. srhoades

srhoades

It sounds like either

A) You do not have the correct video drivers installed

or

B)You have a really cheap VGA card that won't display anything else

3. IndyGunFreak

IndyGunFreak

Thats what it sounds like... I take it this has worked normally up to the time this started happening. If thats the case, its unlikely a memory issue, unless your video is onboard, and you've allocated a lot of memory to something else. I suspect a driver issue.

I'm not 100% sure how to do this under Win98, but it should be similar to the instructions below...

Right Click My Computer, Choose Properties, Click the Device Manager Button/Tab...

Scroll through your Video Devices section, and see if anything there has a yellow question mark beside it. If there is and you have the old driver CD, you can reinstall the drivers, or you can check the manufacturers website to see if they have updated Win98 drivers(unlikely).

If you have a video card, and its dying, you can try to find a video card that comes with Win98 drivers, and install it.

IGF

4. IndyGunFreak

IndyGunFreak

I figured I'd put this in a separate post, but the above, is terrible planning/thinking.