close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

MORE newbie questions: Buell Blast?

Discussion in 'Moto Club' started by Wicked96SS, Jun 9, 2006.

1. Wicked96SS

Wicked96SS Typical Gun Nut Millennium Member

I wanted to thank you guys first for learning as much as I have lurking here...

I am new to motorcycles (well, haven't ridden in 15 years, and then only a couple of times on a borrowed bike) and have been researching a good starter bike. Becuase I eventually believe that I want to get a Harley or Cruiser of some sort, I have been looking at some Standards that are affordable that I can learn on and get used to riding an inexpensive bike before I drop major coin on a big cruiser.

So, Is the Buell Blast a good bike for a starter bike? I am going to have to go sit on a couple this weekend and see if they are comfortable, or too small for me (I have a Harley body type, if you know what I mean), but was curious how reliable they are, if they are well built, solid, etc. etc. etc.

I have also been looking into the SV650 as well as a starting platform.

Anyhow, any information on the Buell Blast (or Buell's in general), OR any general comments would be greatly appreciated.

2. Wicked96SS

I *think* I might have just found my answer...

My Buell website

These aren't the only negative reviews I have found about the Blast.

Although, I would still like to hear any opinions or comments... I am learning a lot from you guys!

What about Buells in General? Same thing? Heck, House drives one!! ;)

3. fnfalman

fnfalman Chicks Dig It

I've known several people (two women and one man) who ride the Buell Blast. The women got them because they have very low seats and to be different than the typical Ninja 250 starter bike. It's a single so it vibrates a bit. It's very low frill. With a good aftermarket pipe, it does make some hellacious noises. There's really not much to tell about the Blast. Oh, and the guy has one to compliment his bigger Buells.