Mmm... Gin...

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Aphotic, Jul 8, 2005.

1. Aphotic

Aphotic happy-go-lucky

I bought the Four Seasons bartending guide at Barnes and Noble the other night and decided to try out some of the "Summer" drinks that it lists...

I've never tried gin before, so I acquired a bottle of Tanqueray and started some mixing. Here's my new favorite, it's MY version of a "Gin Fizz."

You need:

Tall glass
    Long spoon
    Crushed ice
    Gin (Beefeater if you're broke, Bombay if you like the bottle, and Tanq if you want the best quality)
    Tonic Water
    Gingerale
    Lime

Quarter the lime. Fill your glass 3/4 full with ice. Fill glass 1/4 full of gin. Fill glass another 1/4 full with Tonic water. Top it off (1/2 glass) with gingerale. Squeeze lime wedge and drop into drink. Stir with spoon for 15-20 seconds... Enjoy.

Gin and Apple Juice is also very good with no "alcohol" flavor. My ladyfriend likes it:

Fill tall glass 3/4 full with ice. Fill glass 1/3 full with gin, fill the remaining 2/3 with Apple Juice (the sweeter the better) and stir for 15-20 seconds.

Do you guys have any "bootleg" or otherwise not-complicated drinks you like? Let's get a little recipe book started.

If you can, TRY TO KEEP THE VARIETY OF ALCOHOL TO A MINIMUM. As cool as it is to have a quadruple layered shot, most people can't drop $100 on 5 or 6 different bottles of alcohol to mix a single drink.

Stick to one or two alcohol products, but use as many mixers (gingerale, coke, sweet/sour mix etc.) as you'd like.

2. mudfootball

mudfootball