close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Mechanical Engineering question

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by bryan cc tx, Mar 7, 2012.

1. bryan cc tx

bryan cc tx

I have a Bachelors in Business Finance, and I am planning on going back to school to earn a Mechanical Engineering degree.

Which is most looked for by employers and what type of work difference is there between Mechanical Engineering or Mechanical Engineering Technology?

Last edited: Mar 7, 2012
  2. JoeInKS

JoeInKS

Can't quite say I've heard of Mechanical Engineering Technology.... I have a degree in Mechanical Engineering though. In terms of what I think employers are looking for, I can tell you that they are looking for people who are capable and willing to learn, have shown an aptitude for integrating a variety of different things, and can get along / fit in with their work force. I graduated with that degree and have since done everything other than mechanical work. Mostly robotics, process controls, etc.

It's a very nice field for picking up a variety of skills and for me was a perfect escape from the focused study of some of the other disciplines. You do tend to learn a little about chemical, thermo, physics, electrical, computers, etc.

My advice, and you know what a person's advice is worth versus you're own, is to try to learn what you can, get a well rounded background, remain humble, and above all, always display and want to continue to learn.

Good luck in your endeavors. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

3. trcubed

trcubed Senior Member

You'll need to ask the specific school about accreditation, but usually the tech programs don't include the higher math and calc-based physics, statics, dynamics courses that most state registration boards (and state engineering laws) require for you to get a license. To be licensed, you'll need an ABET-accredited degree.