close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Maximizing Glock trade-in

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by philpac33, Jul 26, 2012.

1. philpac33

philpac33

I recently came across another G23 that was too good to pass up. Over time I've been able to set up each of my Glocks exactly the way I want them but lately have had the urge to do something different(again) to a G19. I don't want to make any changes to the 19 I have now. I want to start OEM, gen3 or 4, and either new or low round count.

I'm going to use this newly acquired G23 to get a new 19(my original 23 is the only one I need) but I'm new to getting rid of guns; up to this point all I've done is buy!! What's the best way to maximize the value towards another 19? Should I sell it privately? Trade it in at a local gun store? Or the nearby Cabela's? One gun shop does consignment, I just don't want them to jack up the price and have it sit there.

This G23 is a gen3, great shape(low round count, minor holster wear), new XS Big Dot(Trijicon tritium) night sights, Pierce grip plug, Punisher custom slide plate cover(original included), and of course the plastic Glock case and two 15 round magazines. I was helping a guy out with a cash flow problem and got it for $300 so I know I can get some profit out of the deal. What routes have you gone in this situation and what do you recommend? This next G19 project is all I can think about!! Thanks everybody!!

2. kodiakpb

kodiakpb

Advertise it on a local guntrader board for a F2F sale.

3. larson1122

larson1122

Your best bet is to sell it privately. ArmsList is a great place to start. I sold a gun on there recently and it worked out really well. Local shops, especially Cabela's, aren't going to offer you much for it on a trade in.

4. Engineer

Engineer

Local private sale is the best way to maximize the amount you will get for the pistol.