Maryland Rennfest

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Glock&KimberLady, Sep 19, 2015.

1. Glock&KimberLady

Glock&KimberLady Morior Invictus

Holy crap, this place was HUGE. And loaded with semipermanent buildings. And PACKED with people. I heartily recommend it. I'm a veteran of Renaissance Faires, been going since 1988, and I'm accustomed to big faires like the SoCal Ren Faire, but I believe this one outclassed it with food, artisans, and entertainment. The venue was also delightful; well worn paths that wove in and out the BLESSEDLY BIG SHADE TREES. Huge bonus, the shade trees, as it was 87 degrees and some degree of humidity. Tickets were somewhat less costly as well; $24 for adults, $10 for kids, free for kids under 6...versus SoCal prices of $28 for adults, $15 for kids, 5 and under free.

Downside? NO WEAPONS. Real or fake. Given that my costume traditionally has three daggers (two in front, one in back), I was a little annoyed about that. And The Mister has a full-sized cutlass and a dagger of his own, he was a little annoyed. And given that all three of my daughters have their own daggers, they were a little annoyed.

Amazingly, not one place sold the juggling sticks I play with, and not one person in the entire freaking faire was juggling. It was just me. So if you went to the MD Rennfest (or are going in the future), the chick in the pirate hat with the leather corset and the juggling sticks and the permasmirk? Yeah, that's me.

Anyhoo, here's some pics. Smallest Demon Daughter has it in her head that she's going to learn to juggle like her mum, so I got them taken away from me. A lot. To the point where I was getting aggravated because I wanted to juggle with my sticks and she was hogging them. Next time we go, in a few weeks, I'm giving her Numbah One Son's sticks (he's pretty uninterested in faire, why I don't know, so.many.boobs) so she quits taking mine:

[​IMG]