Malwarebytes worked for me....

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Detectorist, Feb 9, 2010.

  1. Detectorist

    Detectorist

    Messages:
    23,669
    Likes Received:
    14,172
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Location:
    Missouri
    I thought one had to purchase it before using it to remove malware but I guess that is no longer the case.

    This XP computer had all kinds of pop ups that wouldn't quit.

    Ran MB. It found 1145 infections. Deleted them and the system then worked fine.

    Thanks all.
     
  2. Mak Maven

    Mak Maven Lifetime Member

    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Apopka, Fl. Bears at your doorstep.
    Saved my tail many times.
    I was so happy I bought the pay version.
     

  3. Detectorist

    Detectorist

    Messages:
    23,669
    Likes Received:
    14,172
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Location:
    Missouri
    the only complaint I have is that the screen saver won't kick in, no matter what I set it to and I've set up hundreds...
     
  4. Drjones

    Drjones

    Messages:
    6,157
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States
    Download AVG - a free antivirus program - to keep from getting infected again.

    Schedule it to run a scan once a week (it prompts you to do this when you install it)

    Both AVG & Malwarebytes are very good!
     
  5. HKUSP45Css

    HKUSP45Css

    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, by God, Texas
    Well, of course it did, did you think we were all suggesting it because it "might" work? ;)

    I don't buy software often but, I have a paid for version of MBAM.

    PS, Antivirus usually won't fix fraudware or, usually, keep you from getting infected since the fraudware isn't a "virus" per se.

    Use FireFox to browse and get a little more dilligent (or teach those you support to do so) about your surfing habits.
     
  6. GIockGuy24

    GIockGuy24 Bliksem

    Messages:
    4,055
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Location:
    Pentagon City VA
    Try the Avira CD also. It will scan the system with Windows not running.

    http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=82163

    If you have a blank CD, download the file in download link above. The instructions are there too. Write the CD, which it does when the program is run, and reboot the PC to the CD.
     
  7. Detectorist

    Detectorist

    Messages:
    23,669
    Likes Received:
    14,172
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Location:
    Missouri
    This was for a computer I was refurbishing. I've been on the Internet from the beginning and have NEVER had serious malware infect my computer.