close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Making minor with a .40 (limited USPSA)

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by pwoens, Mar 10, 2017.

1. pwoens

pwoens

I am working on obtaining a chronograph as I know its essential. I am also new to all these rules and regulations and know I am a newb :). I have a G35 gen3 with a few upgrades but still within the limited class for USPSA, which is where I participate in fun shoots for now. I would like to try and run the minor class without changing primary pistols and curious if anyone has achieved a minor load with .40 projectiles?

2. Hoser

Hoser Ninja

Easy. Most starting loads won't get close to major.

Pick a powder with a medium burn rate and use the start load. Should be nice and soft recoiling.

180s at minor are really soft.

Taterhead and pwoens like this.

3. pwoens

pwoens

Thank you for the insight - doing more digging on the powders I have on hand and looks like its easy, just as you alluded to. thanks again

4. SJ 40

SJ 40 Deplorable,Clinger

My.40 minor load uses . grs. of WST and a 180 gr. bullet,makes about 133 pf and is a soft recoiling load that if one didn't know would think it was a 9 mm load. SJ 40

5. Taterhead

Taterhead Counting Beans

A 180 with WST will work great. Easy to make minor, especially with the longer G35 barrel. If the start charge cycles reliably, then you'll likely clear minor PF no sweat. And as Hoser said, a very soft recoil.

EDIT: I see that SJ 40 beat me to it.

fredj338, SJ 40 and WeeWilly like this.
  6. SJ 40

SJ 40 Deplorable,Clinger

Great minds or practical experience causes people to think alike. SJ 40

WeeWilly likes this.
  7. pwoens

pwoens

thank you!! how many grs with the 180 would you recommend I start playing around at?? Also, should I run my factory barrel or the lone wolf factory replacement barrel for this??

SJ 40 likes this.
  8. fredj338

fredj338

Another 180/wst for minor guy. I think its as soft as my 9mm.

9. SJ 40