magazine base plate swap 9-40

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by ErickS, Jan 24, 2016.

1. ErickS

ErickS

Let me start off by saying, Im new to Glock ownership. I recently purchased a gen4 17 fde 2 tone for carry. But wanting to convert it over to uspsa and ipsc shooting. After some research ive decided to upgrade my base plates to aftermarket +0 weighted plates.
    My question is, will base plates for 40 cal mags (ie. 22, 23, 35) swap over to the 9mm 17 mag bases? Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

2. Cred's Cariad

Cred's Cariad

They will work.

I use Vickers base plates on all my magazines and they advertise them as fitting the 9/40/357 magazines, and I would venture to say that they would fit on the 45GAP magazines as well...

SJ 40 and ErickS like this.

3. SJ 40

SJ 40 Deplorable,Clinger

This. SJ 40

4. GlockMP

GlockMP

The baseplates are the same for .40 , 45GAP, .357 Sig and 9mm. Only the magazine inserts are different for the 9.

ErickS likes this.
  5. 9x45

9x45 Millennium Member

Erik, small frame Glock magazine base plates are all the same. But you need to figure out what division you want to shoot in USPSA, not IPSC, that's for everyone else outside the US. You don't need to "convert" anything for competition, but different divisions have different rules. Production is scored minor, 10 rounds maximum in a mag, holster and mag pouch restrictions. Lots of rules. But none of that matters, if you are serious about competition, then get to your nearest match with the gear you have. Check with the match director, some clubs will not let you shoot without going thru a half day/full day class first. Competition shooting is 95% mental, 50% physical and 25% gear......

smokey45 and ErickS like this.
  6. ErickS

ErickS

Thanks. Thats what ive been doin. Going weekly to local club and just watching
    Thanks. Ive been going to local club weekly to get jist. Looks like alot of fun. Cant wait

7. smokey45

smokey45