Mac Mini

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by KG4IDA, Mar 11, 2007.

1. KG4IDA

KG4IDA

A friend brought by a new Apple Powerbook last night and it was very impressive. He had XP set up to run in a virtual machine on the desktop. I haven't had any Mac experience since the great purge at work in 96. I am a Windows system admin by trade so I can't abandon Gatesware entirely. I already run Linux on a machine at home. Now I an thinking about a Mac Mini. Anyone have one and how do you like it?

2. BilltheCat

BilltheCat Quieter Cat Millennium Member

I dont have a mini but do have an iMac core 2 duo and love it.

Yes you can run windoze and all the programs you may need/want/like that you already own. You either use a program (freeware) called bootstrap which is a selective boot program, or you use parallels, which is not free but allows you to run both os's at the sime time on the same screen. Cut and paste from one OS to another if you wish. pretty neat.

The only downer I have heard about the mini is it needs a bit more ram to start with to be a great experience.

Are you migrating your network to vista? Not a lot of sysadmins are yet.

3. KG4IDA

KG4IDA

No, we are not going to Vista at work in the near future. We have problems with some of its big brother features. I can see no reason at all to upgrade my home systems. If I should buy a new Windows PC I would get Vista but I suspect a Mini Mac is more likely. I wouldn't install it till SP1 is released in any case.

4. Deanster

Deanster Cheese? CLM Millennium Member

Sooooo... a lot depends on what you're doing with it.

I have a previous-generation Mini with the older G4 Processor, and the current Mini has the same specs as my MacBook - a great little laptop, but I use it almost exclusively for mail, web, MS Office, and run WinXP in Parallels about once a month for an hour or so.