M1A, Get one?

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by Mochahooligan, Oct 8, 2010.

1. Mochahooligan

Mochahooligan

The title says it all. I have a nice bolt action in 308 and now I have been kicking the idea around of getting one. If any GT'ers have one please chime in and let me know your setup. I am a noob with long guns pistols no problem. Thanks guys!

2. Jon_R

Jon_R

My setup is pretty simple. I have a M1A Socom 16. The 16" barrel one without all the rails. I like it a lot probably my favorite rifle. I use it for 3-gun run and gun as a change of pace from the standard ARs. I run it 2-3 times a year at the monthly match ~100 rounds. I plan to also add a full size M1A and will probably put some good glass on that one and maybe a bipod.

I am a big Springfield Armory fan.

What do you want to do with it?

3. Mochahooligan

Mochahooligan

I am thinking bout just long range shooting. I have a Remington 308 for hunting, just I can get a real good deal on a loaded M1A and I am heavily thinking about it.

4. rem2429

rem2429

I have had buyer's remorse a time or two, but never over my M1A.

5. byf43

byf43 NRA Patron Life Member

I bought an SAI M1A from a good friend that thought that he wanted an FAL.
    (He did not buy the FAL!)

This M1A started 'life' as a 'standard'. It's an early M1A and had all USGI parts except the receiver.
    It has been accurized about as far as it possibly can by a man named Charles Maloney.
    This rifle is a thing of beauty, from the Kreiger Hvy Match barrel, to the buttplate.

The only addition to this rifle that I've made is the Sadlak Industries (steel) scope mount, Leupold MKIV rings and a Nikon scope.

This rifle shoots 1/2 MOA at 200 yards.

Easily my most favorite rifle.

Last edited: Oct 8, 2010
  6. Andrewsky

Andrewsky

I don't really like M1As as they come from the factory. I made a ton of modifications to mine. They are good rifles. I recommend the 22" barrel.

7. Zombie Steve

Zombie Steve Decap Pin Killa