Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
520 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, so it is for a slightly older :drool: handgun design than our Glocks:

I recently acquired a SAA (Cimarron-Arms/Uberti Evil Roy) w/a 5 1/2" barrel and am looking for suggestions -based upon your actual experience- on low recoil/cowboy loads using components that I already have. I have extensive reloading experience with other calibers in both handgun & rifle, just not with the 45 long colt.

The bullets that I have on hand (thanks to a friend) are Oregon Trail Laser-Cut lead 250 RNFP and 255 SWC.

Primers will be Remington (not magnum) or can be WLP's.

Powders available include Bullseye, AA#5, True Blue, Silhouette and Zip.

My priorities are as follows:
  1. Accurate to 25 yards
  2. Minimal recoil
  3. Minimal chance of a problem due to a squib or pressure spike
I fully expect the load to be fairly dirty due to low pressure and am not concerned about clean-up.

Your expertise and experience will be most appreciated!

·
Registered
20,909 Posts
I wont be much help. I mainly use Unique at around 8 grains and a 250/255 grain lead bullet. It does what I need.

·
Registered
35,705 Posts
With what you have I would use zip or BE. When I was shooting cas, 200gr rnfp, 4.5gr or RedDot. Fills the case decently, very accurate to as far as you want to shoot cas loads. Lighter bullets are where its at for low tecoil cas loads.
Fwiw, running lead bullets at low pressure, the Oregon trail bullets are too hard. Make sure you are shooting at least 0.452" min.

·
NRA & Second Amendment Life Member
1,586 Posts
With what you have I would use zip or BE. When I was shooting cas, 200gr rnfp, 4.5gr or RedDot. Fills the case decently, very accurate to as far as you want to shoot cas loads. Lighter bullets are where its at for low tecoil cas loads.
Fwiw, running lead bullets at low pressure, the Oregon trail bullets are too hard. Make sure you are shooting at least 0.452" min.