Login Question

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by GeorgiaGlocker, Jun 1, 2020.

1. GeorgiaGlocker

GeorgiaGlocker Romans 10:9

When I login to GT or any other website, my laptop no longer remembers my logins and I have to retype it every time. Any suggestions on how to fix this? I have Windows 10.

2. JimmyRayBob

JimmyRayBob

What browser are you using?

3. GeorgiaGlocker

Google Chrome

4. JimmyRayBob

JimmyRayBob

I am far from an expert, and hopefully someone else will chime in with a better answer.

In the Chrome settings, it sounds like the cookies got cleared or are getting cleared each time you close Chrome. Check Settings, and look for Cookies and Site Data. You need to allow sites to save and read cookies, and NOT clear the cookies when you close Chrome.

I hope this helps (and I hope I'm right).

5. GeorgiaGlocker

Thanks. I will give it a try.

6. IndyGunFreak

IndyGunFreak

Have you logged into Chrome with your Google Account? I think that is the only way Chrome will remember passwords

7. fiasconva

fiasconva Standing my ground...

Try going to settings in Chrome and look at your autofill settings for passwords.

8. Lord

Lord Senior Member

Chrome will remember passwords and populate the fields for you. It's not the laptop or windows that does it. Also, it's not cookies that store passwords. In chrome, click on the 3 little dots in the far upper right corner, and in the menu, select "settings".
    Once in settings, on the left side, click on "Autofill".
    The first thing in Autofill section is "passwords" and over to the right is a small arrow meaning there's more there to look at. Click on it.
    There will be an on/off toggle to "offer to save passwords". Make sure that's on or colored blue.
    Then there's an auto sign in option. Also make sure that's on... and blue.
    Finally, below that should be all the sites that Chrome has stored username/password combos for you.
    That should do the trick.

n2g likes this.
  9. JimmyRayBob