Glock Talk banner

Locally: IDPA or USPSA. Which to join?

4K views 13 replies 12 participants last post by  ecmills 
#1 · (Edited)
Locally the IDPA and USPSA seem "even" in terms of matches and qualifiers. I presume the same shooters attend both matches.

Did you purchase a membership to both or just one....and why?

I shoot a G34; seems the IDPA is a bit more strict on holster and gun belt (based on mission statement) yet I need 5 mags in USPSA vs 3 for IDPA.

I see no reason to be a member of both but I'm a newbie so what the heck do I know!

#4 ·
Yes, actually shoot both and then you can figure out which one you like and heck if you like both, do it. Welcome to the club!

#5 ·
If your IDPA club follows the rules then you will need to be a member before you can shoot the Classifier and for USPSA if you want to become classified so you can win something then you need a membership. USPSA is more run and gun fun hence the need for more mags while IDPA is tactically based and most gun fights are resolved with the gun mag and 2 spares.

#6 · (Edited)
They are separate organizations. You need to join IDPA to be classified by their rules, but you could shoot USPSA forever as unclassified without joining, however you can only compete at local clubs, not higher level matches. In IDPA you are only allowed to have a mag in the gun and 2 on the belt, in USPSA, wear as many as you want. They are both games, with different rules. IPDA was invented by Bill Wilson, an IPSC champion back in the day. Shoot both, see what you like.

#7 ·
. IPDA was invented by Bill Wilson, an IPSC champion back in the day. Shoot both, see what you like.
Not only was idpa invented by Bill Wilson. He OWNS it lock stock & barrel. He has the gold & he makes the rules. No committee, no polls, just his decisions.