close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

LINUX and NAS's

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Alex_Knight, Feb 8, 2005.

  1. Alex_Knight

    Alex_Knight

    Messages:
    4,826
    Likes Received:
    809
    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Location:
    Right behind you.
    I took and old Pentium box and put Linux on it to perform file serving tasks. (hmmmm. Unlimited CALS......in fact, no CALS....what have I been thinking....)


    Will the Iomega® NAS 300m/240GB (3x80) backup utilities work with Linux ? ? ?
     
  2. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    On their website they say some of them work with Linux but the page about that model only says Windows and Mac.
     

  3. Alex_Knight

    Alex_Knight

    Messages:
    4,826
    Likes Received:
    809
    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Location:
    Right behind you.


    Yeah, I saw that.


    I was wondering if anyone here had some real life experience with it.


    I'm guessing it will work as advertized, even with a Linux server.
     
  4. pfrigm

    pfrigm

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Alex,

    We have a Iomega NAS box that we use for backups of network servers. There are two versions of the NAS... one based on Linux and the other based on Windows 2K server. We bought the latter because we use Novell... and that made more sense for our backups (oh, horrors... Novell!!!... Yes. But it hasn't "crashed" in over a year :)).

    In any case, either of the options supports NFS. The linux system supports it natively and the Win2K version through that OS's add-in pack for Unix Services. We don't do it, but the vendor assured me that it can be done. Mount the System that you wish to back up as an NFS share on the NAS and then back up locally.

    The "utilities" that come with the Windows based NAS is actually Veritas's Backup Exec. This only has remote clients for Windows, Novell, and Macintosh. So, to answer your specific question, no, the utilities won't work. (Note, we bought our NAS 18 months ago and things may have changed slightly, but I still think that the above applies).

    Just one option...
     
  5. Alex_Knight

    Alex_Knight

    Messages:
    4,826
    Likes Received:
    809
    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Location:
    Right behind you.

    Thanks for the info.

    Does Mandrake have an unattended backup module ? ? ?
     
  6. jpa

    jpa CLM

    Messages:
    8,030
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Location:
    Las Vegas NV
    crontab job?