Limp wrist myth?

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by Hydraulicman, Mar 16, 2010.

1. Hydraulicman

Hydraulicman

I was out at the shootin' range today and decided to try some "limp wristing" I tired limp grips and let the muzzle flip .. no jams.

I was shooting a glock 26 and an xd45 service.

both with handloads

9mm

115 fmj 6.4 power pistol cci 500 oal 1.135

45 auto
    200 grain round nose flatpoint 5.8 grains 231 winchester large pistol

i was not an extensive test but still. What gives?

2. Bren

Bren NRA Life Member

You don't have a limpwrist problem. When you've got more than 19 years as a firearms instructor, I'll be more interested in your opinion that it's a myth.

3. timbob

timbob

refugeepj likes this.
  4. DEADLYACCURATE

DEADLYACCURATE Senior Member

Try it with WWB and it'll happen.
    I have tried it shooting with my thumb and pointer finger only with 6.5 grains of pp and 115 grain JHP with no luck.

5. timbob

timbob

6. HauntedAlabama

HauntedAlabama

I have never had an issue with my Glock 27, but several of my friends have. Not knowing what else it could be, I always tell them they are limp wristing. After they have a problem, I clear the gun and shoot it and it runs fine. Not saying I am better with guns than they are, just that they are doing something not quite right because it will not duplicate the issue with me.

7. beala

beala

My dad's 1911 stovepipes at least once per magazine when I shoot it. He can shoot it no prob. I think I need to do some arm strengthening exercises.

My Glock 19 doesn't ever jam no matter how loosely I hold it. I think there are probably several factors:
    1) The 1911 probably has tighter tolerances and is less forgiving of operator error (ie limp wristing) than my G19.
    2) My dad reloads his own .45's and deliberately uses the lightest bullet and powder load possible. This would make it more likely that limp wristing would cause stovepipes.