close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Let's Roll!

Discussion in 'Through-the-Lens Club' started by sjfrellc, Jan 18, 2007.

1. sjfrellc

sjfrellc CLM

Very difficult focus. My son's in focus second from right in white.
    1/200 second, f2.2 ISO 800 Nikon D200, Nikkor 1.8 50mm lens.

[​IMG]

2. Mr. PC

Mr. PC

Im no expert but your shutter speed was too slow?

3. nipperwolf

nipperwolf

when shooting indoor sports in low light gyms, without flash, you don't have much range in shutter speed selection. ;)

ISO 800
    1/160
    [​IMG]

ISO 1600
    1/200
    [​IMG]

sjfrellc, have you ever tried using pre-set white balance when shooting basketball?

4. MrsKitty

MrsKitty

Good job! Hard shot!

5. sjfrellc

sjfrellc CLM

Not necessarily, its more that the lens is wide open with no depth of field. Shot at f2.0 in a 1.8 lens. It's the focus and depth of field that's the problem.
    At 5 frames per second, the camera does the best it can. The autofocus mode can be one of five types: center focus, closest object, etc.
    Five frames per second=:banana: :banana: :banana: :banana:

Yeah I tried based on your recommendations last year, but all I had with me was a 92 brightness printer paper, which is probably too blue.Also some gyms have a mixture of two different flourescent lights and depending on the
    You would think if I could afford my camera, I can afford that grey/white thingy that you recommended--I'll get one next time I order some lens filters.
    I was not that impressed with the auto white balance on the D70, but the auto white balance on the D200 seems quite good. The viewing screen on the D200 (battery hog) is also able to discern colors fairly accurately.

I've also been taking pictures of competitive cheerleading in school gyms and I can use the auto or just dial in a Color temperature around 3600.

Posting pictures here depends on monitor colors, mine seem fine.

6. nipperwolf

nipperwolf