Lee Pro 1000 Progressive, thoughts?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by M249SAW, Mar 29, 2010.

1. M249SAW

M249SAW Rescue Jockey

Midway has them on sale with the dies for $159. Says all you need to do is put the bullet on, has case feeder and auto disc.

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct/?productNumber=428284

Otherwise Ive been looking at the Lee Classic turret after reading Colorado4wheel's sticky.

I was thinking of getting into reloading and eventually on a larger scale as I am the resident gun guy for my 600 person fire department. Could even probably sell some reloads once I get them down.

Thoughts are appreciated, and no need to sugar coat:whistling:

2. Brad_G

Brad_G

I started with the LCTP. It is an easy to use press, and can run about 100-130 rounds per hour. It served me well for about a year, until I started shooting USPSA. I realized that loading 600-800 rounds a month to shoot matches was taking too much time away from the family.

I stepped up and bought a Dillon 550. I can't tell you how AWESOME this thing is. It is a little more expensive, but I can load almost 300 rounds in an hour!!!

I would stay away from the lee progressives. I've just heard too many people having issue with the idiosycracies and their progressive presses. If you NEED a progressive, get a Dillon or a Hornady Lock and Load AP.

There will be some people tell you to get the Lee and some people that will tell you not to get the Lee (progressive). But, I can guarantee there are way more people that will endorse the Dillon than not.

Get the Classic Turret if you are only loading 100-200 rounds a month and really need to save the money. If you are going to load more, and have the cash, get a Dillon 550.

Go to www.brianenos.com and read about the presses. He has some great write ups that will help out.